I am really not a vain person. In fact, I hate talking about myself. I would rather talk about you and get to know you! I'm all about "everyone else" and have a need to please you see. But since you're there and I'm here, and this site is a showcase of some of my stuff, I guess I don't have much choice but to say a little about me, my background, and some of the experiences I've had that led me here.

First, let me thank you (again) for stopping by! It's nice that you've taken the time out of your busy day to pop over and check out my work. I get that people have better things to do, I know I do! Wait. That's not entirely true. I watch a lot of Netflix and spend waaaaay too much time on Pinterest and Instagram. It will lead to my downfall, I'm sure of it.

So, here's a bit of background...

Born and raised in Northern Ontario, Canada, I am the youngest of three, hence the "Little Sister" reference, except my brother still calls me his "little blister" (what a guy!). Growing up, I can remember my parents working hard to provide a good life for us, and we did a lot of traveling in the summertime. My earliest memory of our family vacation was to Walt Disney World when I was three. I would carry that love of travel and adventure into my adult years.

As a kid, I hated school. I always felt my teachers would deliberately pick on me because I had trouble with focusing my attention on their lesson. I would get bored easily and would day dream a lot. Looking back, I suspect that I had a learning disability, but back in the 80s it wasn't something that was diagnosed or identified and dealt with clinically. But post-secondary was a different story. It was the early years of the Y2K boom and after I got my first laptop computer, I was hooked. I graduated with 4.0GPA Honors Diploma Computer Programmer/Analyst program and was recruited by the Provincial government after graduation.Dad and me

In 2001, I moved to Southern Ontario and worked in downtown Toronto, but the old cliché that 'you can take the girl out of the country, but you can't take the country out of the girl' was true in my case. I moved back to my hometown for the love of the clean outdoors and my friends and family. I also lived in the Okanagan Valley in the gorgeous interior of British Columbia. I loved it there and some days really wish I hadn't come back! But work beckoned me back to Ontario. And in the fall of 2005, I welcomed my oldest daughter, Gabrielle. Her sister followed in the summer of 2007. They are my everything, and I tell them so every day. My partner Greg has been by my side unwavering and unyielding since we met eight years ago. He is my rock. And lastly, we wouldn't be a family without Zeus (our five year old rottie-lab mix) and Herc (not yet a year old American Boxer terrier mix).

I've enjoyed a career as an IT Programmer/Analyst, Web Application Designer and Developer, and ITSM (IT Service Management) Technical Specialist. But working in a digital medium and creating web spaces, designing graphics, and learning as much as possible about image-editing and graphics software (Corel - yes it's still a thing and Adobe suite, etc.) has been my passion for some time. My career allowed me to travel and I was fortunate to hop the pond twice: in 2003, I traveled Europe for a month and visited 10 countries. And in 2014, I had a work conference overseas and traveled with my partner to London and Paris. I've traveled to both the East and West coasts of Canada twice, been to Jamaica twice, and I plan to do more traveling with my family later this year.

Me in Vancouver 2004 

Passion for Crafting

In the last fifteen years or so, I have spent a lot of time learning various hand crafts, like scrapbooking, painting (oils, acrylics, watercolors, and pastels) sewing, and some quilting, and other hand crafts and home decor. I have a very talented mother who is renowned for her beautiful quilts. She had her own wool boutique and was always taking art or sewing classes. For me however, much of the training in these artistic mediums has been self-taught. I'm not formally trained as a Graphic Designer either because I prefer to learn by observation, independent learning and countless screw-ups (and some successes!)

Why this site? Why now?

About 13 years ago, I decided to be a stay-at-home mom and launched my own Graphic Design business (Little Sister Designs) but juggling a toddler, an infant and manage a business was challenging. I was contacted by my previous employer who wanted me back, so I jumped back on the 9 to 5 train. I gave up my crafting for a time and concentrated on raising a family and work. I returned to scrapbooking and painting a few years ago and found a renewed love for all things artistic! With the encouragement from family and friends, I decided to dive in head first and start up a design side business again. Time will tell how successful this venture will be!

Wish me luck!! ;D